School Social Workers

School Social Workers

 

SWISD School Social Workers

SWISD School Social workers are trained mental health professionals with a degree in social work who provide services related to our student’s social, emotional and life adjustment to school and/or society. Our School Social Workers are the link between the home, school and community in providing direct as well as indirect services to students, families and school personnel to promote and support students' academic and social success. Click Here for more information about the services our Social Workers provide.

Our Role

  • We assist our students and families in identifying factors at home, school and/or community impact education success and work to reduce those barriers to learning. These barriers may include but are not limited to: truancy, alcohol, and other drug abuse, neglect, basic family needs, economic factors, behavioral difficulties, porce, and mental health concerns.
  • We prepare the student so he/she can be successful in the classroom and at school.
  • We educate the student in recognizing and managing emotions developing care and concern for others, establishing positive relationships, making responsible decisions, handling challenging situations, and how to reduce conflicts respectfully. Goal setting, decision making and problem solving are key components of instruction.
  • We support parents, teachers, and administrators in understanding the students' developmental and educational needs.
  • We serve as supportive links between school, home, and community resources.

Name

Phone Number

Email

Campus

Nilda Castellanos, LMSW

210-623-6580

210-645-7570

ncastellanos@swisd.net

Sky Harbour Elementary

Sun Valley Elementary

Jeff Edwards, LMSW

210-623-6520

210-622-4999

jeedwards@swisd.net

Indian Creek Elementary

Spicewood Elementary

Barbara Chandler, LCSW

210-623-6260

210-623-6220

bchandler@swisd.net

Hidden Cove Elementary

Southwest Elementary

Jocabeth Moreno, LMSW

210-623-6260

lbeaucheminboggio@swisd.net

McAuliffe Middle School

Lori Boggio. LMSW

210-622-4480

laperez@swisd.net

McNair Middle School

Analisa Arizpe

210-623-6589

aarizpe@swisd.net

Resnik Middle School

Lori Perez, LMSW

210-645-7500

lbeaucheminboggio@swisd.net

Scobee Middle School

Daisy Nieto, LMSW

210-622-4820

dnieto@swisd.net

9th Grade Campus

Stephanie Rodriguez

210-622-4500

strodriguez@swisd.net

Southwest High School

Sandra Iracheta-Cruz

210-622-4355

sirachetacruz@swisd.net

Special Education Department

For additional resources please Click Here.

 

Student & Outreach Services Office

Marie C. Phelps

Director

Student and Outreach Services

mphelps@swisd.net

Velma N Pena

Secretary to the Director

Student and Outreach Services

vpena@swisd.net

Phone: 210-622-4351

Fax: 210-622-4346